Calendar Of Events

National News

Featured Video

Cork Ladies GAA View
view all clips


Previous to 2000 all matters concerning Ladies Football was dealt with and run by the Cork County Ladies Board. At a County Board meeting held on the 3rd December 1999, a motion was passed to regionalise the divisions and these divisions would take responsibility for organising and running all competitions from U-12 to U-18.

The first meeting of the West ladies Board was held in the Bantry Bay Hotel on the 8th of February 2000. During that meeting the Board was established and the following people were elected:

Chairperson: Francis Quill (Beara)
Secretary: Catherine Moynihan (Gabriel Rangers)
Treasurer: Mary Lynch (Dohenys)
P.R.O: Pat Fitzgerald (O Donovan Rossa)

Helen O Sullivan (Bantry)
Siobhan O Sullivan (Dunmanus)
Patricia Lane (Rosscarbery)

Officers to County Board
Fixtures: Catherine Moynihan (Gabriel Rangers)
Finance: Grace McCarthy (Beara)
Develop: Liz Hayes (Ross)
G.P.C. Sean Power (Beara)
Referee Committee: Fachtna McCarthy (Dohenys)

The Following clubs were present at the meeting:
O Donovan Rossa
Gabriel Rangers
Valley Rovers
St Endas

It was agreed at the meeting that the West Cork Board would run the following Competitions:
U-18: Cup and medals donated by Gabriel Rangers
U-16: Cup and medals donated by Dohenys
U-14: Cup donated by Beara and Medals by O Donovan Rossa
U-12 A: Cup donated by Dunmanus and medals by Rosscarbery
U-12 B: Shield donated by Rosscarbery and medals by Valley Rovers

And the winners in 2000 were:
U-18: Beara
U-16: Beara
U-12 A: Beara
U-12 B: Valley Rovers